FOCAL Advertising - Place your advert here. Click here for further details

FOCAL International Awards




The fifteenth FOCAL International Awards are underway with the opening of our new submissions entry site, powered by BAFTA Nucleus.

Archives are the Future - Lord David Puttnam, FOCAL Patron

Footage is essential. From user generated content to historic film, it documents our past and current worlds. As the only awards competition of its kind, the FOCAL International awards, with its varied categories, pay tribute to the understanding, entertainment and often overlooked histories that footage brings to our screens.

Fifteen years, and thousands of incredible submissions later, we'd like to thank all FOCAL members - past & present - for your support and contribution to the awards. We'd also like to remind you of how you can become involved in the FOCAL International Awards, 2018.

[The FOCAL Awards are] a focal point that draws the attention of those most interested in evolving the art, the industry and the value of the work to buyers and are involved in raising the bar of the industry and profession - Rudy Gaskins, CEO Society of Voice Arts & Sciences 

Be a Juror

Our awards simply wouldn't exist without our global team of jurors who lend us their invaluable time and expertise. We'd love to welcome you to join the juries so you too can benefit from viewing and considering some of the very best screen projects submitted to the awards.
Read more about what being a juror involves here and email Madeline Bates if you're interested in taking part.

Submit your own work

Whether you'd like to nominate your team for Library of the Year or enter your latest project into one of our eleven production categories, the FOCAL International Awards are open and welcome submissions from all across the FOCAL community and beyond.
Enter your work here


More about the FOCAL International Awards

Producers, filmmakers and other creative professionals who have used library footage in all variety of genre including documentary, feature films and any other form of production or across all media platforms over the last year can submit their work for consideration.
We also honour the researchers, technicians and producers that access, maintain and use this precious resource with Awards on the night for best archive researcher, library and restoration work.
Since their inception in 2004, the FOCAL International Awards have recognised and championed the values of creativity, integrity and sustainability in screen culture. These awards are now, without doubt, the leading and most complete set of awards for the archive footage business in the world today.

VISIT FOCAL International Awards new site! 

 Some of our 2017 Award winners (Clockwise L-R: Terence Donovan: Speed of Light, Letters from Baghdad, Eat That Question: Frank Zappa in his own Words, Napoleon, Zoo Quest in Colour)
Some of our 2017 Award winners (Terence Donovan: Speed of Light, Zoo Quest in Colour, Napoleon,
Eat That Question: Frank Zappa in his own Words and Letters from Baghdad.)





FOCAL Awards Promo


Host Kate Adie


2015 Intro by Host Kate Adie OBE at FOCAL International Awards Ceremony


2014 Intro by host Dan Snow at FOCAL International Awards Ceremony