FOCAL Advertising - Place your advert here. Click here for further details

The FOCAL International Awards 2016



Please read the Entry Guidelines first, then the Category details. When you have chosen an appropriate Category that you want to make a submission to, go to the Award Submission Form. On the submission form you select the chosen category and the correct form will appear. Please note that the forms do not retain your information so it is advisable to prepare and save your text in advance in case there is a problem! Also please have your purchase order number ready or your credit card ready. We can only take Mastercard or Visa and you should have it cleared for overseas transactions in advance. Good luck!!

  • AWARD:

  • Sponsored by: 'Lifetime Achievement Award' is a gift of the FOCAL International Executive


Robert Gitt

Nominated by Clyde Jeavons

In a career spanning more than 50 years, Gitt is recognised as one of the world's foremost experts and practitioners of film preservation and restoration. In 1977, he became the first preservation officer of the UCLA Film & Television Archive, where he built up and taught a team of skilled colleagues and restored hundreds of classic Hollywood films, both silent and sound, to the highest standards of the art, earning the constant praise and admiration of peers and film-makers alike. (For a full selective list, see CV.) Highlights of his work have included the revival of director's cuts (e.g., Howard Hawks's 'The Big Sleep', 1945; Orson Welles's 'Macbeth', 1948), along with the frequent recovery of missing scenes and censor cuts. Most notable, perhaps, is his discovery, compilation and acclaimed presentation of the exhaustive rehearsal outtakes of Charles Laughton's 'The Night of the Hunter'. Although now officially retired from the UCLA Archive, Gitt continues to act as adviser and mentor to its technical staff.

Gitt has, almost single-handedly, put back into circulation and on to the big screen numerous American film classics and neglected masterpieces, silent and sound, to the visual standards achieved by their original creators. He has, in particular, raised the art and technique of colour film restoration, in titles ranging from the first two-colour Technicolor features (e.g., 'The Toll of the Sea', 1922) and the first three-colour Technicolor subject ('Becky Sharp', 1935), to, most recently, one of the finest Technicolor films of all time, Michael Powell and Emeric Pressburger's 'The Red Shoes', in collaboration with Martin Scorsese and the BFI and ITV. Gitt has also pioneered the recovery and restoration of early sound, often from wax discs, most notably in the case of Warner Brothers' Vitaphone shorts of 1926-1931. Currently, he is constructing on DVD and BluRay an epic audio-visual history of sound-on-film, the most recent results of which (1933-1975) were launched in 2015. He is well-known for his extensive, entertaining and authoritative presentations and lectures on this and many other film history and restoration topics.

Our Sponsors

Getty Images
Bloomberg Content Service
Bridgeman Footage
FremantleMedia Archive
Film London and its London's Screen Archives
ITV Sport Archive
Broadcast TECH
Global ImageWorks
Visual Data
British Pathe
AP Archive
Creative Skillset
Bonded Services

View All

On the Night...

Kate Adie and Lord Puttnam

Lifetime Achievement Trophy

Kate Adie

Tony, Fiona, Bob

Ray Davies

Raelene and Lee

Jody Winterbottom

Robert and Jenny

Joe Lauro


Anne Johnson and ?

Jessica and Cathy

Raelene and Kev

? and Greg

Janet, Simon, Jo

Victoria Stable (middle)

Obi and guests

Bob, Kate, Tony, Clyde

Amanda Dantas and hostesses

Sue Malden

SKY team

Fremantle MediaArchive

Richard Melman and Simon Wood

Colleen and Alexis STALKR

Restoration team behind MARIUS

Tim Emblem-English (right)

Guests from Universal

Lucie and ?

Victoria, Julie and Susan

Antoine and Susanne

Maggi Cook

Stuart, Steve and Vero

Trevor Phillips

Kate and Denis

Margaret Bodde and Lord Puttnam

Jerry, Jessica, Cathy

Denis and Paul


Bob and Margaret


View All

Opening Ceremony 2016 Chair Sue Malden and Event Organiser Julie Lewis


Host Kate Adie


FOCAL Awards Promo